Inaugural meeting of AU South Sudan Commission

Publié le par imagazine

The African Union Commission of Inquiry on South Sudan held its inaugural meeting 12 March 2014, in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. The Commission of Inquiry adopted its terms of reference, outlined a work plan and agreed on the required support to fulfill its mandate.


The Commission of Inquiry identified initial activities to be undertaken in the coming weeks, including meetings with the Government of South Sudan, the armed opposition and other South Sudanese stakeholders; consultations with the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD); AU bodies such as the AU High-Level Implementation Panel (AUHIP) as well as international actors, notably, the United Nations; non-governmental organizations and other relevant bodies.


The Chairperson of the Commission of Inquiry, former President Olusegun Obasanjo and others members of the Commission, namely Professor Mahmood Mamdani, Ms. Bineta Diop and Professor Pacifique Manirakiza were in attendance. Lady Justice Sophia Akuffo, who is the President of the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights was unavoidably absent.


The inaugural meeting followed the oath ceremony earlier in the day during which members of the Commission of Inquiry were sworn in. Speaking on behalf of the Commission of Inquiry, former President Olusegun Obasanjo expressed his determination and that of his fellow members to fully discharge their mandate.

Publié dans Union Africaine

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :

Commenter cet article